Spain 2012

I have a bad habit of referring to this trip as solely to Barcelona, because that was my “home base” for the week.  In reality, I didn’t get to do much exploring of the city itself (HUGE boo-hoo), but I did get to go on a day trip that allowed me to see parts of Spain that I would not have otherwise.  (Thank you, Spousetivities!)

I took a group tour to Figueres and Cadaqués, stopping first at the Dalí Theater and Museum.  It was surreal! (No pun intended)

Inside and out of the museum itself, things were freaky-deaky (in a good way!)

The town of Figueres was lovely. And old.  Sigh.  Two of my favorite combinations.

Underneath this sign sat:

You know I have a thing for decay, don’t you?

On the way back to the bus, I spotted this mini Statue of Liberty.  I wish I’d had time to get a better look at it, but alas, this is the only shot I was able to get:

Then we were off to Cadaqués. We stopped first for lunch at Es Balconet, which was like going on a scavenger hunt to find

Along the way, we saw SO MANY INTERESTING THINGS!!! I had to shoot them on the fly…

I could have spent hours wandering aimlessly, but I was already the last one to the restaurant, which we found the entrance to underneath the lantern

After lunch, while hurrying to the bus, I could barely contain myself.  Cadaqués is a gorgeous town.

Our final stop of the day was further up the coast to Port Lligat, where Dali kept a home and studio, which is now the Casa-Museo Salvador Dalí.  This secluded village was too quaint for words…

(So yeah, it’s a fishing village)

Dali’s house:

And the view as we left:

You can see more of my pictures here.

2 responses to “Spain 2012

I'd love to hear from you!

