Fontainebleau/Moret-sur-Loing

According to some people, I chose to visit France at the “worst” time of the year because of the weather.  Winter weather doesn’t deter me because I loathe hot weather, but I will concede that it was cold during our visit.  Our friends who live in Paris said it was freakishly cold, even for winter, while we were there.  So while I wouldn’t say it was the “worst” time to visit (because it is France after all and every season is magical!) maybe I will say it was the “least best” time to visit…

We loaded up the car one day to head out of the city and have lunch in Fontainebleau on our way to Moret-sur-Loing, which was – OHMYGOODNESS – the quaintest town I’ve ever seen.  I mean, you look in the dictionary, and under the word “quaint” will be this picture:

_NLG8405

*all the pics taken that day were taken when it was snowing, so please excuse the “mess” on the pictures. 🙂

In Fontainebleau, it was business as usual.  There was a carousel set up in the center of town and there was a kid on it like it wasn’t below freezing and snowing.

_NLG8311This made me realize how wimpy we adults were being about the cold.  When I was a kid, I would have been right there beside her, rocking some cool ear muffs and barely noticing the weather at all.  The snow did bring out the child in some of us – we had a good old fashioned snowball fight on the way back to the car.  (Well, everyone except the photographer)… 😉

_NLG8303

_NLG8298

When we got to Moret-sur-Loing, this is the first thing I saw:

_NLG8339Can you even imagine how gorgeous this place is when the flowers and trees are in full bloom?  Seriously – google it.

_NLG8410It’s easy to see why this town served as an inspiration for Money, Renoir, Sisley, and other artists bien sûr!

_NLG8430

_NLG8411

If you haven’t fallen in love already, visit my Zenfolio gallery for more reasons to.  I also have a gallery of doors from our visit, too.  Cuz I’m kind of a nerd that way. 🙂

4 responses to “Fontainebleau/Moret-sur-Loing

I'd love to hear from you!

